Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Defying Death by Cynthia Sax [Review]

 Defying Death by Cynthia Sax
Defying Death (Cyborg Sizzle #4) by Cynthia Sax
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: March 28, 2017

Cyborg Sizzle
1. Releasing Rage
1.5. Being Green
2. Breathing Vapor
3. Crash and Burn
3.5. Jumping Barrel
4. Defying DeathKindle
5. Chasing Mayhem
6. Hers to Command
7. Ghost of the Machine
8. Seeking Vector
8.5. Knowing Zip

Cynthia Sax
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
He’ll risk it all for one moment of happiness.

Cyborgs don’t show emotion. Death learned that lesson early in his long lifespan. To survive, he hides his fierce passions behind a stoic wall. He calls no warrior friend. He never admits to caring for any being.

Even the human female he’s destined to love.

Tifara is Death’s obsession, his sole opportunity for happiness, to express the all-consuming passion burning brightly inside him. He’ll do anything to obtain the curvaceous medic: defy a direct order, abduct Tifara from her battle station, and wage war on his fellow cyborgs.

To earn her love, he’ll have to risk much, much more.
Thoughts on Defying Death: MORE CYBORGS! YESSSSSS! Now, Death is a little harder to relate to than the other cyborgs. Mostly because he keeps all his emotions locked down. Hard. Except, you know, when he wants certain appendages fondled. He's pretty open about that particular thing. But the rest of the time, he's learned that showing emotion ends up harming those around him.

So he tries to pretend he's not wildly attracted to and fiercely protective of Tifara. Which *spoiler* he is on both counts.

Tifara, on the other hand, doesn't hide her emotions in the least. She gets a little fixated on viruses and how to cure them and she kinda refuses to listen to Death when he keeps insisting he hasn't infected anyone (except her with his love nanos) (that's not actually what they're called, btw), but she'd pretty straightforward about her wants. And she's very creative about convincing herself that Death needs some very HANDS ON monitoring, if you know what I mean.

By the by, I'm not sure I like the cyborg counsel. They're kinda unbending jerks (who happened to unbend a little, but let's move on, shall we?). Maybe they just need to find their special lady friends so they understand why a cyborg would be willing to go balls out to protect her. Since I live in eternal hope that all the freed cyborgs find their HEA, I'm going to pretend that day is coming. Possibly soon.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Amid the Winter Snow Anthology [Review]

 Amid the Winter Snow Anthology
Amid the Winter Snow Anthology
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: November 25, 2017

Grace Draven
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Thea Harrison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Elizabeth Hunter
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Jeffe Kennedy
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Purchase Links: Kindle

Synopsis (Goodreads):
As the snows fall and hearths burn, four stories of Midwinter beginnings prove that love can fight its way through the darkest night…

THE DARKEST MIDNIGHT, by Grace Draven
The mark Jahna Ulfrida was born with has made her a target of the cruel and idle all her life. During the long, crowded festivities of Deyalda, there’s nowhere to escape. Until a handsome stranger promises to teach her to save herself…

THE CHOSEN, by Thea Harrison
In her visions, Lily sees two men fighting for her tiny country’s allegiance: the wolf and the tiger, each deadly, each cunning. One will bring Ys chaos and death, one a gentler path—but she’s destined to love whichever she chooses. The Midwinter masque is upon them, and the wolf is at her door…

THE STORM, by Elizabeth Hunter
When her soul mate died in a massacre of the half-angelic Irin people, Renata thought she’d never feel happiness again. She’s retreated to her childhood home in the snowy Dolomites to hide and remember the hurt—until determined, irrepressible Maxim arrives to insist on joy, too. And before she can throw him out, they discover a secret the Irin have to know…

THE SNOWS OF WINDROVEN, by Jeffe Kennedy
As a blizzard batters the mountain keep of Windroven, Ami, Queen of Avondligh of the Twelve Kingdoms, and her unofficial consort Ash face their own storm. Ash knows a scarred, jumpy ex-convict isn’t the companion his queen needs. But when a surprise attack confines them together in their isolated sanctuary, the feast of Midwinter might tempt even Ash into childlike hope…
Thoughts on Amid the Winter Snow: I came for the Elder Races and got sucked into all of them.

The Darkest Midnight: Oh, man. Jahna and Radimar had the most wonderful slow burn romance. Part of this is because Jahna is young when they first meet and she needs to grow into herself, and part of it is because Radimar is trying to convince himself his lifestyle isn't the type that takes a wife. Yet, he still has decidedly non-brotherly thoughts about Jahna  even when he's trying to think of her in that way. It was, in a word, perfect.

The Chosen: I'm a HUGE Elder Races fan, so it should come as no surprise that I absolutely ADORED Lily and Wulf's story. Lily was just so sweet and mindful that every choice she makes will have an impact on her people. And Wulf...Wulf is everything I love about Elder Races heroes. He's crafty and forceful, but he sees that too heavy a hand will send Lily running. So he takes his time with her and it was FANTASTIC. I guess you could say Lily's sweetness brought out his lighter side. Honestly, Wulf needed that lightness. With everything he's had to deal with lately, he's buried under a cloud and the idea that he was heading to war wears on him.

I just... <3 <3 <3

The Storm: Renata and Max. The whole soul mate dying thing was rough. Renata was so broken after. Even when she wasn't broken-broken, she was still hanging onto her heartache so tightly she couldn't see how much Max meant to her. Finding the secret in the caverns helps her in more ways than one. Facing her pain ends up making her stronger. That said, I'm pretty sure Max would stand by her whether she was still lost or not.

The Snows of Windroven: Okay. So I have the BIGGEST soft spot for damaged heroes who can't see how heroic they really are. Ash TOTALLY checks off all those boxes. The guy has a lot of baggage and his sense of self-worth is pretty tarnished after his years in prison, but he's a good one. His biggest flaw is probably his lack of communication. But, again, those years in prison can mess with a man. Good thing Ami is the sort to force a confrontation. It takes a while to drag his fears out of him, but she perseveres and gets the big guy talking and it's FANTASTIC.

Monday, December 11, 2017

Frisky Business by Jodi Redford [Review]

 Frisky Business by Jodi Redford
Frisky Business (Kinky Chronicles #6) by Jodi Redford
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 4, 2017

Kinky Chronicles
1. Perfect Chemistry
1.5. Perfect Passion
2. Kinky Claus
3. Report for Booty
4. Cowboy Kinky
5. K(ink)y Curves
6. Frisky BusinessKindle

Jodi Redford
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The best way to get over a man? Get your kink on with another. And Jane Campbell knows the perfect escort agency to get the job done.

As the owner of Hunks for Hire, Jack Brewster is used to the raunchy requests that land in his inbox. Bondage and blindfolds? Par for the course. But Jane’s email whispers a wicked enticement. A sane man would delete the message. Or send his best escort to the date armed with a steel cup. Only problem? The thought of Jane naked and bound beneath any guy but him is like a knife in Jack’s gut.

He doesn’t do commitments. And he sure as hell doesn’t do love and Happily Ever Afters. He was a fool before in that regard. Never again. But he can indulge in a taste. Then he’ll walk away from Jane. For good.

But eating forbidden fruit has its addictive consequences, and two stubbornly anti-love sinners are about to take the biggest fall of them all.

Warning: This book contains an irredeemable bad girl, an ex-gigolo who can give the Kama Sutra some pointers, and a sweet, dirty, and thoroughly complicated love story long overdue.
Thoughts on Frisky Business: Whew! Jane and Jack's story was a long time coming and it was well worth the wait. Mostly because watching two stubborn, hard-headed people fall and fall hard is a particular kink of mine.

What? Everybody has them.

Just ask Jack. He caters to kinks of every kind. And Jane throws him for a loop when she contacts his company and lays her wants on the line without realizing Jack is the man behind Hunks for Hire. Yeah, things get a little tangled when his deception is uncovered, but Jane is nothing if not willing to grab a chance when it presents itself.

Let's just say Jack does an excellent job with his presentation and leave it at that.

This book opens up some enticing possibilities with the other hunks in Jack's employ. Men who know how to please a lady are a-okay in my book and I'm ALL IN when it comes to watching them find the special someone who lights up their life. *thumbs up all around*

Sunday, December 10, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (12/10/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • Tuesday's Series Short featured the gang from the Wicked Pride series attempting to put together a shapeshifter holiday gathering. CATS AND WOLVES DON'T MIX WELL! LOL!
    • On Thursday, we went back to the Anderson High Wolves with a bonus series short. Jenny and Evan. *fluttery sigh*
Check it out!
  • Bout of Books SHENANIGANS start on Monday. And by that, I mean you can sign up for challenge ideas. The actual read-a-thon starts in January. JUST SO YOU KNOW!

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Spotlight On...Ice Planet Barbarians by Ruby Dixon

To say I'm obsessed with the big, blue aliens of the Ice Planet Barbarians series *might* be a bit of an understatement.

I LOVE THESE GUYS. From their first interactions with the human woman who crashed on their planet to the oodles of babies the tribe is now inundated with, they make me ridiculously excited with every new release.

That said, there are A LOT of books in this series. So I'm going to leave you with book 1 and tell you that if you like sometimes gruff, always sexy aliens who absolutely ADORE their mates, this series is the one for you.

GO BLUE OR GO HOME, AMIRITE?!?!?!

 Ice Planet Barbarians by Ruby Dixon
Ice Planet Barbarians (Ice Planet Barbarians #1)
You'd think being abducted by aliens would be the worst thing that could happen to me. And you'd be wrong. Because now, the aliens are having ship trouble, and they've left their cargo of human women - including me - on an ice planet.

And the only native inhabitant I've met? He's big, horned, blue, and really, really has a thing for me...
Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Friday, December 8, 2017

Mackenzie Family Christmas: The Perfect Gift by Jennifer Ashley [Review]

 A Mackenzie Family Christmas: The Perfect Gift by Jennifer Ashley
Mackenzie Family Christmas: The Perfect Gift (Mackenzies & McBrides #4.5) by Jennifer Ashley
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: March 28, 2017

Mackenzies & McBrides
1. The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie
2. Lady Isabella's Scandalous Marriage
3. The Many Sins of Lord Cameron
4. The Duke's Perfect Wife
4.5. Mackenzie Family Christmas: The Perfect GiftPaperback | Kindle
5. The Seduction of Elliot McBride
5.5 The Untamed Mackenzie
6. The Wicked Deeds of Daniel Mackenzie
6.5. Scandal and the Duchess
7. Rules for a Proper Governess
8. The Stolen Mackenzie Bride
8.5. A Mackenzie Clan Gathering
9. Alec Mackenzie's Art of Seduction
10. The Devilish Lord Will

Jennifer Ashley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The Mackenzies gather for a clan Christmas and Hogmanay in Scotland. In the chaos of preparations for the celebration--the first of Hart and Eleanor's married life--one of Ian's Ming bowls gets broken, and the family scrambles to save the day. Daniel busily runs a betting ring for everything from the hour Eleanor's baby will arrive, to whether Mac's former-pugilist valet can win a boxing match. Ian begins a new obsession, and Beth fears that the loss of one of his precious bowls has made him withdraw once more into his private world.
Thoughts on Mackenzie Family Christmas: The Perfect Gift: Revisiting the Mackenzies reminded me how very much I adore Ian as a character. He's super focused and considered odd by those outside his family and he's so SO devoted to Beth. I will be going back to reread their book as soon as I finish this review.

(I'm going to quietly admit I haven't read the other brothers' stories yet, but DEAR GAWD I WANT TO NOW. I just like them. All of them. They're loud and boisterous and they love with all their hearts.)

While Ian and Beth are my favorite couple, the others are just as captivating. They're all crazy in love even if it takes them a while to find the right things to do or say. And the blooming romance that's hinted at here...*swoon*

Looks like I have some catching up to do!

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Jumping Barrel by Cynthia Sax [Review]

 Jumping Barrel by Cynthia Sax
Jumping Barrel (Cyborg Sizzle #3.5) by Cynthia Sax
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download on 12/3/16
Date read: March 27, 2017

Cyborg Sizzle
1. Releasing Rage
1.5. Being Green
2. Breathing Vapor
3. Crash and Burn
3.5. Jumping Barrel - Kindle
4. Defying Death
5. Chasing Mayhem
6. Hers to Command
7. Ghost of the Machine
8. Seeking Vector
8.5. Knowing Zip

Cynthia Sax
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
He requires an Expert. She needs a hero.

Barrel requires an Expert for the Tau Cetian orphans. He’s looking for a female who is willing to commit to a lifespan-long role, who is comfortable with moving off planet, and who, preferably, has the ability to speak the offsprings’ first language.

Nola wants the role Barrel is offering so badly she bends a few truths. Yes, she was born off planet but she has lived almost all of her lifespan in sheltered Academies. Yes, she has learned Tau Cetian but she has never spoken with a local. Yes, she plans to follow the rules but his deep, sexy voice tempts her to rebel.

When a fact-morphing human academic meets her battle-worn cyborg warrior, deceptions are revealed, passions flare, and circuits sizzle. Wrong seems right. Lies turn into truth. The candidate least qualified for the role becomes the one candidate Barrel can’t let go.
Thoughts on Jumping Barrel: This one's quite a bit shorter than the others in the series, so it moves quickly. Very quickly. Which isn't a bad thing except I'm kinda digging on these cyborgs right now and wouldn't have minded a little more set in their world.

But it's cool. Because Barrel and Nola find their happy place and that's what it's all about, right? Well, that and teaching all the orphans they saved from Tau Ceti. Which Nola is (mostly) qualified to do.

Again, it moves quickly and there's not a lot of waffling about the situation they find themselves in. The universe likes to throw these cyborgs and their special lady friends together and that's exactly what happened. *thumbs up*