Friday, January 19, 2018

Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews
Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles #2) by Ilona Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 27, 2017

Innkeeper Chronicles
1. Clean Sweep
2. Sweep in PeacePaperback | Kindle
3. One Fell Sweep

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Dina DeMille doesn’t run your typical Bed and Breakfast. Her inn defies laws of physics, her fluffy dog is secretly a monster, and the only paying guest is a former Galactic tyrant with a price on her head. But the inn needs guests to thrive, and guests have been scarce, so when an Arbitrator shows up at Dina's door and asks her to host a peace summit between three warring species, she jumps on the chance.

Unfortunately, for Dina, keeping the peace between Space Vampires, the Hope-Crushing Horde, and the devious Merchants of Baha-char is much easier said than done. On top of keeping her guests from murdering each other, she must find a chef, remodel the inn...and risk everything, even her life, to save the man she might fall in love with. But then it's all in the day's work for an Innkeeper…
Thoughts on Sweep in Peace: Oh, man, I'm LOVING this series. It's hitting all the right notes for me. Plus, CROSSOVER! Kinda dark crossover, but STILL. We got to see some of the Edge kids all grown up. They're as dark and complicated as I'd expect them to be and I seriously loved visiting with them. (Plus, the possibilities! OMG! The possibilities their presence in Dina's world opens up!)

Enough about all those other fabulous characters, let's get to Dina and her issues. With her inn needing guests, Dina agrees to host peace talks at the inn. Things go pretty much exactly as she imagined they would--which is to say, they go a little crazy pretty much from the get-go.

The charming Arland returns with his space vampires. The Hope-Crushing Horde is...kinda rough around the edges at first glance, but I liked them. And the merchants. Those guys. With three very different groups to tend to, all with reasons for their hatred, Dina's hands are full. Meanwhile, Sean is still out among the stars and Dina misses him. Awww.

I'm so entranced by this entire series. SO entranced. Book 3 is waiting for me.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews
Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles #1) by Ilona Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 27, 2017

Innkeeper Chronicles
1. Clean Sweep - Paperback | Kindle
2. Sweep in Peace
3. One Fell Sweep

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is...different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, "normal" is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night....Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.
Thoughts on Clean Sweep: Holy wow. After reading this book, I'm determined to glom the rest of this series like it's going out of style. Because I like the crazy. I like it a lot. From an innkeeper who will risk practically everything to protect her house and the secrecy of what's hiding in plain sight to the badass werewolf I want to see more of. I even liked the vampire. Frankly, that doesn't happen all that often, so that's BIG NEWS.

So. Dina's world is not your typical jaunt through an urban fantasy landscape. Yes, there's plenty of magic and sometimes unexplainable things, but the sci-fi aspects throw a curve ball I loved. Distant worlds, genetically engineered super soldiers who can shapeshift like a BOSS, and vampiric political maneuvering that would make our own politicians weep with envy. Things are dangerous in this world and Dina is standing as a bastion of strength against, well, anything that would threaten her guests. Which she currently has only one of, but I'm sure things will look up.

Sure of it.

This lady has her house, her dog, and a healthy dose of magic when she's on her grounds. She also has two attractive men putting the moves on her and a seriously sociopathic guest who's settled in for the long haul. Then there are those deadly creatures roaming the neighborhood. And a suspicious cop. And a stone cold killer on the loose.

It'll be fiiiiiine. I'm sure of it.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Spotlight On...Living Out Loud by Staci Hart [Cover Reveal]

The wait is over! We have our first stunning Staci Hart cover for 2018.


Living Out Loud
Staci Hart
Publication Date: February 1, 2018
Cover Photo: Perrywinkle Photography
Cover Design: QuirkyBird Designs
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2mHfcEu


When Annie Daschle arrives in New York City, the only thing she can control is her list.

Not her father’s death or the loss of her home. Not the hole in her heart or the defective valve that’s dictated so much of her life. But she can put pen to paper to make a list of all the ways she can live out loud, just like her dad would have wanted.

See the city from the top of the Empire State Building: Check.
Eat hot dogs on the steps of The Met: Check.
Stand in the middle of Times Square: Check.
Get a job at Wasted Words: Check.

Two things not on her list: Greg Brandon and Will Bailey. And just like that, she finds herself caught in the middle of something she can’t find her way out of, with no clear answers and no rules.

List or no list, she realizes she can’t control anything at all, not even her heart.

Not the decisions it makes, and not the moment it stops.

*Standalone contemporary romance Inspired by Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility.*



About the Author
Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.

Amazon | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Website | Newsletter




Hunted by the Dragon Duke by Mina Carter [Review]

 Hunted by the Dragon Duke by Mina Carter
Hunted by the Dragon Duke (Council of Black Dragons #2) by Mina Carter
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 27, 2017

Council of Black Dragons
1. Dragon Her Feet
2. Hunted by the Dragon DukeKindle
3. The Dragon Queen's Fake Fiance
3.5. The Dragon Queen's Christmas Wedding

Mina Carter
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sexy, royal and one of the ferocious black dragons… he’s way out of her league.

Orphaned and forced to live under the cruel eye of her stepmother, Saskia spends her days and most of her nights sewing gowns for rich dragonesses to wear to balls she will never see. When a chance encounter brings her into contact with the handsome Callan, Duke and cousin to the Queen, she thinks nothing of it. After all, what royal duke would want a woman with a broken, mad dragon?

But when the otherworldly intervenes, Saskia gets her chance to go to the ball, and dance with the man of her dreams…

Tiny, delicate and utterly beautiful… but where has he seen her before?

A royal duke by birth, and a black, Callan’s life has been dictated since the moment he was born. Ordered by his cousin, the queen, to pick a bride at the ball or she’ll pick for him, he’s between a rock and a hard place. Until he sees her. The tiny woman in the purple gown runs him a merry chase over the ballroom but one look and he’s determined. She will be his.

And she is, for the briefest of moments before his duty intervenes and he has to return a wayward youth to his father before he gets himself into a lifetime of trouble. When he returns his delicate princess is gone, leaving behind a single shoe…

Furious, Callan launches a hunt for his love…one that leads to a woman who is not who she pretends to be, a raid on a brothel and a fight with a troll. Can he persuade his delicate princess she’s not broken, but that she’s the perfect dragoness for him?
Thoughts on Hunted by the Dragon Duke: Oh, I liked this one. Cinderella with dragon-shifters. Yesssss. Complete with a wicked stepmother and a driven duke and a shoe left behind for him to find her by.

MAN, I like dragons. They're ruthless and focused and they definitely go after what they want when they see it. The first time they meet, Callan might not have realized what Saskia was to him, but he figured it out soon enough. But by that point Saskia is already on the run and in some deep water with her "family."

Driven dragons, a mistreated girl, and a stepmother with zero redeeming qualities. I'm all in!

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Top Off Tuesday - Alien love!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

A scaled, alien dragon. YESSSSSS!!!

 Jarek by Erin Tate
Jarek (Dragons of Preor #1) by Erin Tate
What’s hotter than an alien with scales? An alien with wings and scales, not to mention a hot body.

At 457 Preor years old, Jarek sen Claron is a dragon ready for his final flight into the skies. This voyage to Earth as the War Master of the third fleet will be his final assignment. Once he has helped his fellow Preors secure human mates, he will return to Preor before the madness of loneliness overtakes his mind.

That all changes when he meets Melissa. Human Melissa with her sparkling eyes, bright smile, and body that would make any hot-blooded male drool. Unfortunately, she never registered as a Preor mate hopeful. No matter, the Knowing stretches between them and there is no way she can resist him. Until she does.

Jarek wishes to give her the choice to mate him, while everything inside him screams to take Melissa beneath his wing, now. No choosing necessary.

But should he draw her to his side when his enemies are circling? Many males do not believe the son of a Preor mass murderer deserves to have a mate. Can he survive the coming battles? Or will he die without tasting sweet Melissa’s lips? 

Monday, January 15, 2018

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews
Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy #1) by Ilona Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 26, 2017

Hidden Legacy
1. Burn for Me - Paperback | Kindle
2. White Hot
3. Wildfire

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.
Thoughts on Burn for Me: I can't remember the last time a book/series grabbed me this hard. I'm tempted to indulge in an immediate reread because, HOO-BOY, Mad and Nevada WORK FOR ME on so many levels. His focus and relentless power. Her unwillingness not to bend when it comes to certain issues. Plus, those two are SMOKIN' hot together. They barely touched in this book and I'm feeling a little swoony about them.

*fans self*

So. Nevada. There's far more to her than what she lets others see. Given some of the hints Mad (I'm going back and forth on what to call him. Mad? Connor? Rogan? I'm probably going to skip between all three. Sorry!) dropped, I imagine there's far more to her than even she realizes. Her power is rare enough to be something she needs to hide, but it's the strength she's hiding from herself that I think is going to end up being the gamechanger.

And Connor/Mad/Rogan. He's...slightly sociopathic. And for some reason it works for him. Hard. He's been shaped by his power and the things he's had to do with it. He's ruthless and sometimes terrible and I liked him SO MUCH. Especially once he and Nevada were forced to spend time together on her case.

SO GOOD!

I'm making grabby hands at the next book in the series. And the one after that. They can't get here soon enough.

Sunday, January 14, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (01/14/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • Nothing? Really? GO ME! Time to whittle away at the TBR pile!
    • Currently reading 
      • Uhh...I don't know. WHAT AM I READING? This week is a blur of fantastic books!
    Globetrotting...